Originally French Cameroon, the Republic of Cameroon gained independence in 1960. A year later, the Federal Republic of Cameroon was formed when the southern portion of neighboring British Cameroon voted to merge the Republic. The Federal Republic became a unitary state in 1972; now the United Republic of Cameroon, the country is stable. It has a total area of 475,440 sq km, which makes it slightly larger than California. It natural resources are petroleum, bauxite, iron ore, timber, and hydropower. It has a population of 20,129,878 people and the languages of Cameroon consist of 24 major African language groups as well as its official languages of English and French. 40% of the people of Cameroon hold indigenous beliefs, while another 40% are Christian and the remaining 20% are Muslim. The capital of Cameroon is Yaounde, and it has a mixed legal system of English common law, French civil law, and customary law. The national symbol of Cameroon is the lion.

  • Arun Agrawal

    Arun Agrawal

    Professor, School of Natural Resources and Environment

  • Daniel Brown

    Daniel Brown

    Professor, School of Natural Resources and the Environment
    Associate Dean for Research, School of Natural Resources and the Environment

  • Frieda Ekotto

    Frieda Ekotto

    Associate Professor, Romance Languages and Literatures
    Associate Professor, Comparative Literature

  • Default People Image

    Rebecca Hardin

    Assistant Professor, Anthropology
    Assistant Professor, School of Natural Resources and Environment

  • Default People Image

    George Kling

    Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

  • Default People Image

    Robert B. Payne

    Professor Emeritus of Zoology, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
    Curator Emeritus of Birds, Museum of Zoology

  • Default People Image

    Ellen Spence Poteet

    Lecturer I, History
    Lecturer I, Classical Studies