Comoros gained independence from France in 1975, and has since then endured more than 20 coups or attempted coups. Comoros shares a unique government in which the federal presidency rotates among it and two other islands, Anjouan and Moheli, both of which declared independency from Comoros in 1997. Each island has its own local government. Comoros is slightly more than 12 times the size of Washington, D.C., with a total area of 2,235 sq km. The ethnic groups that live in Comoros include Antalote, Cafre, Makoa, Oimatsaha, and Sakalava. Comoros has two official languages, French and Arabic, but Shikomoro (a blend of Swahili and Arabic) is also spoken there. The country has a population of 737,284 people, and the majority of the people are Sunni Muslim (98%) with a minority of Roman Catholics (2%). Comoros is a republic with a mixed legal system of Islamic religious law, the French civil code of 1975, and customary law. The capital of Comoros is Moroni, and its national symbols are four stars and a crescent.

No results were returned for Comoros search.