Gabon received independence from France in 1960 and maintains French as its official language. The Capital is Libreville and holds approximately 619,000 people. Gabon is located in Central Africa, bordering the Atlantic Ocean at the Equator, between Republic of the Congo and Equatorial Guinea. It is has a total area of about 267,667 sq km, making it roughly the size of Colorado. A small total population of about 1,608,321, abundant natural resources, and considerable foreign support have helped make Gabon one of the more prosperous and stable African countries. Their primary natural resources are petroleum, natural gas, diamond, niobium, manganese, uranium, gold, timber, iron ore, hydropower. The country is comprised of Bantu tribes, including four major tribal groupings (Fang, Bapounou, Nzebi, Obamba); other Africans and Europeans, 154,000, including 10,700 French and 11,000 persons of dual nationality.