South Sudan

South Sudan lies in East-Central Africa, north of Uganda and Kenya, and west of Ethiopia. It gained independence in July 2011 and holds English and Arabic as its official languages. Other languages used include Dinka, Nuer, Bari, Zande, and Shilluk. The population of 10,625,176 is made up of many ethnic groups, such as Dinka, Kakwa, Bari, Azande, Shilluk, Kuku, Murle, Mandari, Didinga, Ndogo, Bviri, Lndi, Anuak, Bongo, Lango, Dungotona, and Achol. South Sudan holds one of the richest agricultural areas in Africa in the White Nile valley, which has fertile soils and abundant water supplies.

Susan D. Page, U.S. ambassador to South Sudan, joined a panel of U-M faculty to discuss America’s relations with the East African nation and the challenges facing the new country, which gained independence in July 2011 after more than 50 years of civil war with Sudan.  
Click here for video