Steering Committee

  • Kathryn Babayan

    Kathryn Babayan

    Director, Armenian Studies Program
    Associate Professor of Iranian History & Culture

    734.763.1597 / babayan@umich.edu


  • Kevork Bardakjian

    Kevork Bardakjian

    Marie Manoogian Professor of Armenian Languages and Literatures
    Professor, Near Eastern Studies

    734.763.7655 / kbar@umich.edu


  • Tamar Boyadian

    Tamar Boyadjian

    Assistant Professor of Medieval Literature, Michigan State University

    517.884.4437 / tamar@msu.edu


  • Kathleen Canning

    Kathleen Canning

    Chair, History
    Sonya Rose Collegiate Professor of History
    Arthur F. Thurnau Professor
    Professor, History/Women's Studies/German

    734.763.9937 / kcanning@umich.edu


  • Juan R. Cole

    Juan Cole

    Director, Center for Middle Eastern & North African Studies
    Richard P. Mitchell Professor of History
    2527 Haven Hall

    jrcole@umich.edu


  • Gottfried Hagen

    Gottfried Hagen

    Chair, Near Eastern Studies
    Associate Professor of Turkish Studies

    734.763.1596 / ghagen@umich.edu


  • Ara Sanjian

    Ara Sanjian

    Associate Professor in Armenian and Middle Eastern History, U-M Dearborn

    arasan@umd.umich.edu


  • Arsen Saparov

    Arsene Saparov

    Lecturer, History
    2012-13 Manoogian Post-Doctoral Fellow

    A.Saparov@gmail.com


  • Tanielian Melanie

    Melanie Schulze Tanielian

    Assistant Professor of History 2520 Haven Hall

    meltan@umich.edu


  • Ron Suny

    Ronald G. Suny

    Charles Tilly Collegiate Professor of Social and Political History
    Professor, History
    1767 Haven Hall

    rgsuny@umich.edu


  • Zubrzycki profile

    Geneviève Zubrzycki

    Director, Center for Russian, East European, & Eurasian Studies
    Associate Professor, Sociology
    4112 LSA

    734.764.7501 / genez@umich.edu