Faculty

  • Arun Agrawal

    Arun Agrawal

    Professor of Natural Resources, SNRE
    Faculty Associate, Center for Political Studies, Institute for Social Research
    4028 Dana

    734.647.5948 / arunagra@umich.edu


  • ahuja

    Gautam Ahuja

    Harvey C Fruehauf Professor of Business Administration and Professor of Corporate Strategy and International Business, Stephen M Ross School of Business

    734.763.1591 / gahuja@umich.edu


  • Ali_Ekhteyar

    Syed Ekhteyar Ali

    Lecturer II, Asian Languages and Cultures, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts 5026 STB

    734.647.8647 / ekhteyar@umich.edu


  • anupindi

    Ravi Murthy Anupindi

    David B Hermelin Professor of Business Administration and Professor of Technology and Operations, Ross School of Business

    734.615.8621 / anupindi@umich.edu


  • Raj Arunachalamn

    Raj Arunachalam

    Assistant Professor of Economics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

    734.764.2355 / arunacha@umich.edu


  • baxinn.jpg

    William G. Axinn

    Professor of Sociology; Research Professor, Survey Research Center; Research Professor, Population Studies; Director, SRC, Institute of Social Research

    734.764.8365 / baxinn@umich.edu


  • Ruma Banerjee

    Vincent Massey Collegiate Professor of Biological Chemistry
    Professor of Biological Chemistry
    Associate Chair, Biological Chemistry, Medical School

    rbanerje@umich.edu


  • jebarber.jpg

    Jennifer S. Barber

    Associate Chair and Professor of Sociology
    Research Professor, Population Studies Center and Survey Research Center,
    Institute for Social Research

    The Intersection of Family Sociology, Demography, and Social Psychologyjebarber@umich.edu


  • Sharmadip Basu

    Lecturer I, American Culture Program, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

    734.764.0214 / shbasu@umich.edu


  • Judith Becker

    Judith O. Becker

    Professor Emerita of Music
    School of Music, Theatre & Dance

    Ethnomusicology, Music and Religion,734.763.3278 / beckerj@umich.edu


  • Sarah Besky

    Sarah Besky

    Assistant Professor/Post Doctorial Scholar, Anthropology; Assistant Professor/Post Doctorial Scholar, School of Natural Resources and Environment 230-D West Hall

    734.764.7274 / besky@umich.edu


  • Bhatia

    Varuni Bhatia

    Assistant Professor of Asian Languages and Cultures
    College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
    5139 STB

    Bhakti/Devotional traditions; Colonialism; Religious Nationalism; Secularism, Religion, and the Public Sphere734.763.1592 / varunib@umich.edu


  • bhattacharyya

    Sugato Bhattacharyya

    Associate Professor of Finance
    Stephen M. Ross School of Business

    Applied Game Theory; Corporate Finance734.763.9777 / sugato@umich.edu


  • Nachiket Chanchani

    Nachiket Chanchani

    Assistant Professor of History of Art
    Assistant Professor of Asian Languages and Cultures
    70D Tappan Hall and 5048 South Thayer Building

    734.964.5400 / nachiket@umich.edu


  • Juan R. Cole

    Juan Cole

    Richard P Mitchell Collegiate Professor of History
    Professor of History
    Director, Middle Eastern & North African Studies, International Institute
    2527 Haven Hall

    Modern Middle East; Muslim South Asia; Social and Intellectual History734.763.4207 / jrcole@umich.edu


  • Madhav Deshpande

    Madhav Deshpande

    Professor of Sanskrit
    Professor of Linguistics
    5016 STB

    Historical linguistics;Sanskrit grammatical tradition;Sanskrit phonetics;Indo-Aryan linguistics;Sociolinguistics of Sanskrit and Prakrit languages734.647.2159 / mmdesh@umich.edu


  • Hussein Fancy

    Hussein Anwar Fancy

    Assistant Professor of History
    College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
    2528 Haven Hall

    734.936.3021 / fancy@umich.edu


  • Leela Fernandes

    Leela Fernandes

    Glenda Dickerson Collegiate Professor of Women's Studies;Professor of Women's Studies;Professor of Political Science 1122 Lane Hall
    734.763.2047

    Gender and Politics; Feminist Theory; Urban Politics; Comparative Government and Politicsleelaf@umich.edu


  • fricke

    Tom Fricke

    Chair, Department of Anthropology
    Professor of Anthropology
    Research Professor, Survey Research Center
    Research Professor, Population Studies Center, Institute for Social Research
    101-A West Hall, 206-B West Hall, 2218 ISR

    Anthropological Demography, Social Change, and the Family and Fertility in Nepal and South and East Asia734.764.2319


  • V.V. (Sugi) Ganeshananthan

    Zell Visiting Professor of Creative Writing

    vasugi@umich.edu


  • ghimire

    Dirgha Jibi Ghimire

    Associate Research Scientist, Population Studies Center
    Institute for Social Research

    734.936.3125 / nepdjg@umich.edu


  • Pinderjeet Kaur Gill

    Lecturer I in Asian Languages and Cultures
    College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
    6076 STB

    Folk Beliefs, Lore and songs of Punjab734-763-5306 / pjgill@umich.edu


  • Will Glover

    William Glover

    Associate Professor of Architecture, A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture & Urban Planning
    Associate Professor of History, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

    Colonial and postcolonial architecture and urbanism, nineteenth and twentieth century urban South Asia, space, social theory, and question of modernity734.936.0203 / wglover@umich.edu


  • D Herwitz

    Daniel Herwitz

    Frederick G L Huetwell Professor
    Professor of History of Art
    Professor of Philosophy
    Professor of Comparative Literature
    Director Graduate Studies, Department of Comparative Literature
    Professor of Art & Design, School of Art & Design

    734.763.2351 / herwitz@umich.edu


  • ho

    Meilu Ho

    Assistant Professor of Music
    School of Music, Theatre & Dance

    South Asia, temple-classical and Hindu-Muslim relations, trans-regional studies, music and religion, emotion, hybridity, power of soundmlho@umich.edu


  • Matthew_Hull_CSAS

    Matthew Hull

    Associate Professor of Anthropology
    College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
    224-A West Hall

    Semiotics, bureaucracy and governance, corporations, urban planning, material culture, science and technology734.763.5382 / hullm@umich.edu


  • karnani

    Aneel Karnani

    Associate Professor of Corporate Strategy and International Business, Stephen M. Ross School of Business

    734.764.0276 / akarnani@umich.edu


  • khanna

    Vikramaditya S. Khanna

    William W. Cook Professor of Law
    Professor of Law, Law School

    Law and development in India, corporate law and practice, law and economics, international law, comparative law, public law and regulatory policy734.615.6959 / vskhanna@umich.edu


  • krishna

    Aradhna Krishna

    Dwight F. Benton Professor of Marketing
    Professor of Marketing
    Stephen M Ross School of Business

    734.764.2322 / aradhna@umich.edu


  • krishnan

    MS Krishnan

    Accenture Professor of Computer and Information Systems
    Professor of Technology and Operations
    Stephen M. Ross School of Business

    Corporate IT strategy, Business value of IT investments, and management of distributed business processes, software engineering economics734.763.6749 / mskrish@umich.edu


  • Michael Paul Lempert

    Assistant Professor of Anthropology
    College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
    234-E West Hall (office), 238-D West Hall (lab)

    Anthropology; linguistic anthropology; interaction; semiotics; social theory; stance and affect; religion; Tibet; South Asia734.764.2156 / mlemp@umich.edu


  • Erik Linstrum

    Erik Raymond Linstrum

    Assistant Professor/Post-Doctoral Scholar, History
    College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

    734.763.2289 / linstrum@umich.edu


  • Donald Lopez

    Donald S. Lopez Jr.

    Arthur F. Thurnau Professor
    Arthur E. Link Distinguished University Professor of Buddhist & Tibetan Studies
    Chair, Michigan Society of Fellows
    Professor of Buddhist & Tibetan Studies, Department of Asian Languages & Cultures
    6111 STB

    734.615.1331 / dlopez@umich.edu


  • Ram Mahalingham

    Ramaswami Mahalingam

    Associate Professor of Psychology
    Associate Professor of Women's Studies
    3263 East Hall

    734.763.0049 / ramawasi@umich.edu


  • Arvind Mandair

    Arvind-Pal Mandair

    Tara Singh and Balwant Kaur Chattha and Gurbax Singh and Kirpal Kaur Brar Sikh Studies Professor
    Associate Professor of Asian Languages and Cultures
    6155 STB

    Current research interests focus on exploring the intersections between religion and comparative cultural theory and rethinking the relationship between mysticism and politics in Indic religions734.764.8286 / amandair@umich.edu


  • Jeff Martin

    Associate Librarian, Graduate Library Area Programs, University Library

    Hindi, Anthropological work in Orissa, India734.936.2344 / jeffmart@umich.edu


  • Christi Merrill

    Christi Merrill

    Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
    Associate Professor of Asian Languages and Cultures
    5131 STB

    734.647.2096 / merrillc@umich.edu


  • Brian Min

    Brian Min

    Assistant Professor of Political Science
    Faculty Associate, Center for Political Studies, Institute for Social Research

    7634 Haven Hall
    505 S. State St.

    734-615-4708 / brianmin@umich.edu


  • Farina Mir

    Farina Mir

    Associate Professor of History
    Director, Center for South Asian Studies
    2757 Haven Hall

    South Asian History (Modern and Early Modern)734.647.5416 / fmir@umich.edu


  • nagra

    Ranjanpreet Kaur Nagra

    Lecturer I in Asian Languages and Cultures
    College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
    6018 STB

    734.763.7153 / rnagra@umich.edu


  • narayanan

    M P Narayanan

    734.763.5936 / mpn@umich.edu


  • nriagu

    Jerome Nriagu

    Professor Emeritus of Environmental Chemistry, School of Public Health
    Research Professor Emeritus, Human Growth, Center Human Growth and Development

    Environmental health problems in the developing countries734.936.0706 / jnriagu@umich.edu


  • Joyojeet Pal

    Joyojeet Pal

    Assistant Professor of Information, School of Information 3445 North Quad

    734.764.1555 / joyojeet@umich.edu


  • Shobita Parthasarathy

    Associate Professor of Public Policy
    Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy
    4202 Weill Hall

    734.764.8075 / shobita@umich.edu


  • Mercedes Pascual

    Mercedes Pascual

    Rosemary Grant Collegiate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Research Professor, Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics, Medical School

    734.763.7142 / pascual@umich.edu


  • Punathambekar

    Aswin Punathambekar

    Associate Professor of Communication Studies, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts 5427 North Quad

    734.615.0949 / aswinp@umich.edu


  • ramaswamy

    Venkatram Ramaswamy

    734.763.5932 / venkatr@umich.edu


  • rush

    Stephen Rush

    Professor of Music (Dance/Music Technology)
    School of Music, Theatre & Dance

    Improvisation, music technology, interdisciplinary compositional techniques734.647.2286 / srush@umich.edu


  • Minnie Sinha

    Mrinalini Sinha

    Alice Freeman Palmer Professor of History
    Professor of History
    Professor of English Language and Literature
    1743 Haven Hall

    Colonial India; British Empire; World History734.615.3451 / sinha@umich.edu


  • sinopoli

    Carla Sinopoli

    Professor of Anthropology
    Curator, Museum of Anthropology
    Director, Rackham Graduate School
    4030 Museums

    Archaeology of South Asia, particularly Vijayanagara Empire; Material Culture; Pre-Colonial Empires734.764.0484 / sinopoli@umich.edu


  • sivadasan

    Jagadeesh Sivadasan

    Associate Professor of Business
    Stephen M. Ross School of Business

    Industrial Organization; International Economics; Productivity Growth; Regulation734.763.2373 / jagadees@umich.edu


  • Rachel Snow

    Rachel Campbell Snow

    Associate Professor of Health Behavior and Health Education, School of Public Health
    Research Associate Professor, Population Studies Center, Institute for Social Research

    International Reproductive Health, Policy and Planning; Gender, Human Rights, Sexually Transmitted Infections and Contraceptive Technologyrcsnow@umich.edu


  • Gareth Sparham

    Lecturer II in Asian Languages and Cultures

    734.647.8657 / gsparham@umich.edu


  • Robert Stern

    Robert M. Stern

    Professor Emeritus of Economics and Public Policy
    Professor Emeritus of Public Policy
    Gerald R Ford School of Public Policy

    International Economic Policies734.764.3490 / rmstern@umich.edu


  • arlandt.jpg

    Arland Thornton

    Professor of Sociology
    Research Professor, Survey Research Center
    Research Professor, Population Studies
    Director, Population Studies, Institute for Social Research

    734.615.3542 / arlandt@umich.edu


  • trautmann

    Thomas R. Trautmann

    Professor Emeritus of Anthropology
    Professor Emeritus of History
    College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

    Ancient Indian History; Aryan Concept; History of Anthropology; Kinship and Family in Indiattraut@umich.edu


  • Sonam Tsering

    Lecturer I in Asian Languages and Cultures
    College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
    6072 STB

    734.647.9892 / stsering@umich.edu


  • tucker

    Richard P. Tucker

    Adjunct Professor of Natural Resources, SNRE
    Intermittent Lecturer in Program in the Environment

    Modern history of South Asia, environmental history of South and Southeast Asia, global environmental trends734.763.9279 / rptucker@umich.edu


  • walsh

    James Walsh

    734.936.2768 / jpwalsh@umich.edu


  • Susan Pratt Walton

    Susan Pratt Walton

    Lecturer IV in Musicology, Residential College
    Lecturer IV in Music, School of Music, Theatre & Dance
    105 Tyler

    734.763.0179 / swalton@umich.edu


  • Tom Weisskopf

    Tom Weisskopf

    Professor Emeritus of Economics 1610 East Quad

    tomw@umich.edu


  • Jennifer Wenzel

    Associate Professor of English Language and Literature; College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

    Literatures of Third World Liberation; Postcolonial Theory; South and West African Literatures in English; 20th Century South Asian Literatures; World Literatures in English734.764.6330 / jawenzel@umich.edu


  • Jeffrey Wilson

    Jeffrey Wilson

    Associate Curator, Museum of Paleontology;Associate Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences 128 Museums Annex

    734.647.7461 / wilsonja@umich.edu