Center Directors

  • Kwasi Ampene

    Kwasi Ampene

    Director, Center for World Performance Studies
    Associate Professor, Afroamerican and African Studies/Music

    ampene@umich.edu


  • askew_kelly

    Kelly Askew

    Director, African Studies Center
    Associate Professor, Anthropology/Afroamerican and African Studies
    1080 South University Ave., Suite 3603
    Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1106

    734.615.9558 / kaskew@umich.edu


  • Kathryn Babayan

    Kathryn Babayan

    Director, Armenian Studies Program
    Associate Professor, Iranian History & Culture

    734.763.1597 / babayan@umich.edu


  • Christi-Anne Castro

    Christi-Anne Castro

    Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies
    Associate Professor, Ethnomusicology

    734.615.4216 / ccastro@umich.edu


  • Juan R. Cole

    Juan Cole

    Director, Center for Middle Eastern and North African Studies
    Richard P. Mitchell Professor of History
    2527 Haven Hall

    734.763.4207 / jrcole@umich.edu


  • Rob Franzese

    Robert Franzese

    Director, Program in International and Comparative Studies
    Professor, Political Science

    franzese@umich.edu


  • Mary Gallagher

    Mary Gallagher

    Director, Lieberthal-Rogel Center for Chinese Studies
    Associate Professor, Political Science

    734.764.6308 / metg@umich.edu


  • Anna Grzymala-Busse

    Anna Grzymala-Busse

    Director, Weiser Center for Emerging Democracies
    Director, Weiser Center for Europe & Eurasia
    Ronald and Eileen Weiser Professor of European and Eurasian Studies
    7751 Haven Hall
    734.763.4699

    734.764.3463 / abusse@umich.edu


  • BIO-Hoffnung-Garskof

    Jesse Hoffnung-Garskof

    Director, Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies
    Associate Professor of American Culture and History
    Room 2620, School of Social Work Building

    734.763.0553 / jessehg@umich.edu


  • Kwak

    Nojin Kwak

    Director, Nam Center for Korean Studies
    Associate Professor, Communication Studies
    4652 SSWB

    734.647.9857 / kwak@umich.edu


  • Karla Mallette

    Karla Mallette

    Director, Center for European Studies
    Director, Islamic Studies Program
    Professor, Italian and Near Eastern Studies
    4010 MLB 1275

    734.647.2351 / alrak@umich.edu


  • Farina Mir

    Farina Mir

    Director, Center for South Asian Studies
    Associate Professor, History
    2757 Haven Hall

    734.647.5416 / fmir@umich.edu


  • tsutsui.jpg

    Kiyoteru Tsutsui

    Director, Human Rights Initiative
    Associate Professor, Sociology

    tsutsui@umich.edu


  • Zubrzycki profile

    Geneviève Zubrzycki

    Director, Center for Russian, East European, & Eurasian Studies
    Director, Copernicus Program in Polish Studies
    Associate Professor, Sociology
    4112 LSA

    734.764.0351 / genez@umich.edu


  • Johnathan Zwicker

    Jonathan Zwicker

    Director, Center for Japanese Studies
    Associate Professor, Japanese Literature
    5147 STB

    734.615.7035 / jzwicker@umich.edu