Center Directors

  • Kwasi Ampene

    Kwasi Ampene

    Director, Center for World Performance Studies
    Associate Professor, Afroamerican and African Studies
    Associate Professor, School of Music, Theatre and Dance

    ampene@umich.edu


  • Christi-Anne Castro

    Christi-Anne Castro

    Associate Professor of Ethnomusicology

    734.615.4216 / ccastro@umich.edu


  • Josh Cole

    Joshua H. Cole

    Director, Center for European Studies
    Interim Director, Weiser Center
    Associate Professor of History
    1640 Haven Hall

    734.647.2743 / joshcole@umich.edu


  • Juan R. Cole

    Juan Cole

    Director, Center for Middle Eastern and North African Studies
    Professor of Middle Eastern and South Asian History
    2527 Haven Hall

    734.763.4207 / jrcole@umich.edu


  • Anna Grzymala-Busse

    Anna Grzymala-Busse

    Director, Weiser Centers for Emerging Democracies and Europe & Eurasia
    Ronald and Eileen Weiser Professor of European and Eurasian Studies
    7751 Haven Hall
    734.763.4699

    734.764.3463 / abusse@umich.edu


  • BIO-Hoffnung-Garskof

    Jesse Hoffnung-Garskof

    Director, Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies
    Associate Professor of American Culture and History
    Room 2620, School of Social Work Building

    734.763.0553 / jessehg@umich.edu


  • Kwak

    Nojin Kwak

    Director, Nam Center for Korean Studies
    Associate Professor, Communication Studies
    4652 SSWB

    734.647-9857 / kwak@umich.edu


  • Pauline Jones Luong

    Pauline Jones Luong

    Director, Islamic Studies Program 7632 Haven Hall
    734.764.5207

    pjluong@umich.edu


  • Olga Maiorova image

    Olga Maiorova

    Director, Center for Russian, East European, & Eurasian Studies
    Associate Professor, Slavic Languages & Literatures, History
    3040 MLB

    734.764.0351 / maiorova@umich.edu


  • Wang Zheng

    Wang Zheng

    CCS Associate Director
    Associate Professor, Department of Women's Studies, LSA
    Associate Research Scientist, Institute for Research on Women and Gender
    2156 Lane Hall

    734.763.6635 / wangzhen@umich.edu


  • Johnathan Zwicker

    Jonathan Zwicker

    Director, Center for Japanese Studies
    Associate Professor of Japanese Literature
    5147 STB

    734.615.7035 / jzwicker@umich.edu