Advisory Council

The Weiser Center for Emerging Democracies is advised by a Council composed of distinguished public figures and scholars from across North America, Europe, and Eurasia:

Walter Andrusyszyn
Adjunct Professor for Business Administration, University of South Florida
Director for Central and Northern Europe, National Security Council, 2001-03

Craig Calhoun
Director, London School of Economics and Political Science

Robert J. Donia
Research Associate; Center for Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies; University of Michigan

Nataša Kandić
Founder, Humanitarian Law Center, Belgrade

Aleksander Kwaśniewski
President of Poland, 1995-2005

Thomas J. Miller
President and CEO, International Executive Service Corps
U.S. Ambassador to Greece, 2001-04
U.S. Ambassador to Bosnia and Herzegovina, 1999-2001

Jeanne L. Phillips
Senior Vice President of Corporate Affairs and International Relations, Hunt Consolidated, Inc.
U.S. Permanent Representative and Ambassador to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, 2001-03

Rudolf Schuster
President of Slovakia, 1999-2004

Lilia Shevtsova
Nonresident Senior Fellow, Center on the United States and Europe, Brookings Institution

Levon Ter-Petrossian
President of Armenia, 1991-98

Katherine Verdery
Julien J. Studley Faculty Scholar and Distinguished Professor of Anthropology, City University of New York Graduate Center

Viktor Yushchenko
President of Ukraine, 2005-10