Skip to Content

Committees

CJS is led by an Executive Committee headed by the center director. The 2017-18 members of CJS's Executive Committee are:

Kiyoteru Tsutsui; Director, CJS / Associate Professor of Sociology
tsutsui@umich.edu

Kevin Carr; Associate Professor of History of Art
kgcarr@umich.edu

Allison Alexy; Assistant Professor, Asian Languages and Cultures, Women's Studies
aalexy@umich.edu

Shinobu Kitayama; Associate Director, CJS / Robert B. Zajonc Collegiate Professor, Psychology, Public Health
kitayama@umich.edu

Keiko Yokota-Carter; Japanese Studies Librarian, Asia Library
kyokotac@umich.edu

Director of Graduate Studies (DGS)

Leslie Pincus; Associate Professor of History
lpincus@umich.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies (DUS)

Allison Alexy; Assistant Professor, Asian Languages and Cultures, Women's Studies
aalexy@umich.edu

2017-18 Committees

CJS Publications Advisory Committee

Markus Nornes; Chair; Professor, Screen Arts and Cultures, Asian Languages and Cultures, Art and Design
amnornes@umich.edu

Kevin Carr; Associate Professor of History of Art
kgcarr@umich.edu

Faculty Research Grant Committee

Hitomi Tonomura; Chair; Professor of History
tomitono@umich.edu

Erin Brightwell; Assistant Professor, Asian Languages and Cultures
elbright@umich.edu

Denise Saint Arnault; Associate Professor of Nursing
starnaul@umich.edu 

Student Admissions & Fellowship Committee

Leslie Pincus; Chair; Associate Professor of History
lpincus@umich.edu

Reginald Jackson; Assistant Professor, Asian Languages and Cultures
rjalc@umich.edu