Skip to Content

Alumni News

Alumni, please send news on your activities since graduation to Include your name, class year(s), degree(s), current activities, as well as address updates so that we may send you occasional postings. Please let us know if we may post this news on our website and if we may share your contact information with current students or recent alumni interested in pursuing an internship or career in your field.

Luciana Aenasoaie (PhD Anthropology & History ’16) is assistant director of the Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program at U-M. (4/3/17)

Louis Albertini (BA REES/International Studies ’13) was selected to be a 2015-16 Princeton in Asia Fellow in Almaty, Kazakhstan. (7/1/15)

George Breslauer (BA Political Science ’66, MA Political Science/Russian Studies Graduate Certificate ’68, PhD Political Science ’73), professor emeritus of political science at UC-Berkeley, was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and has been appointed as the first faculty director of UC-Berkeley’s Magnes Collection of Jewish Art and Life. (2/26/16)

Mary Cavender (PhD History ’97) and Karen Petrone (PhD History ’94) co-edited Everyday Life in Russia Past and Present (Indiana UP, 2015) w/ C. Chatterjee and D. Ransel. (4/3/17)

Anna Cichopek-Gajraj (PhD History ’08) was awarded the 2015 Barbara Heldt Prize (honorable mention) for the best book by a woman in Slavic/Eastern European/Eurasian Studies for her book Beyond Violence: Jewish Survivors in Poland and Slovakia, 1944-48 (Cambridge UP, 2014). She also received the 2016 Shofar Zakhor Award from the Phoenix Holocaust Survivors’ Association for exhibiting and carrying the work of Holocaust education, Holocaust remembrance, and community interaction. (2/26/16)

Sean Cotter (PhD Comparative Literature ’04) was awarded the Society for Romanian Studies 2015 Book Prize for Literary Translation and the Idea of a Minor Romania (U of Rochester Press, 2014). (2/26/16)

Robert Donia (PhD History ’76) received the 2016 Barbara Jelavich Book Prize (Honorable Mention), from the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies for Radovan Karadžić: Architect of the Bosnian Genocide (Cambridge UP, 2015). (4/3/17)

Lisa Fein (MA REES ’94, PhD Sociology ’09) is associate professor of sociology at Westminster College. (8/1/16)

Sara Feldman (Near Eastern Studies ’14) is a Hebrew and Yiddish lecturer at the Program in Jewish Culture and Society at the University of Illinois. (2/26/16)

Deborah Field (PhD History ’98) co-authored Russia’s Long Twentieth Century: Voices, Memories, Contested Perspectives w/ C. Chatterjee and L. Kirschenbaum (Routledge, 2016). (8/1/16)

Joshua First (PhD History ’08), the author of Ukrainian Cinema: Belonging and Identity during the Soviet Thaw (I. B. Tauris, 2015), is now the Croft Associate Professor of History and International Studies at the University of Mississippi. (4/3/17)

Edin Hajdarpasic (PhD History ’08) was awarded the 2016 Rothschild Prize in Nationalism and Ethnic Studies by the Association for the Study of Nationalism for his book Whose Bosnia? Nationalism and Political Imagination in the Balkans, 1840-1914 (Cornell UP, 2015). (5/20/16)

Julie Hansen (PhD Slavic ’00) co-edited Punishment as a Crime? Perspectives on Prison Experience in Russian Culture (Uppsala UP, 2014) w/ A. Rogachevskii. (4/3/17)

Erik Herron (BA REES ’90) is the Eberly Family Professor of Political Science at West Virginia University. (2/26/16)

John-Paul Himka (BA Slavic ’71, PhD History ’77) co-authored The World to Come: Ukrainian Images of the Last Judgment (Harvard UP, 2015) w/ L. Berezhnaya. (2/26/16)

Owen Johnson (MA History ’70, PhD History/REES Graduate Certificate ’78) received the 2015 Czechoslovak Studies Association Winters Award for Distinguished Contribution to Czechoslovak Studies. (2/26/16)

Eric Anthony Jones (MA Political Science ’76, PhD Political Science ’88) is senior watch officer in the Nuclear Risk Reduction Center, Bureau of Arms Control Verification and Compliance, at the U.S. Department of State. (2/26/16)

Pamela Jordan (MA REES ’91) is assistant professor of politics and global affairs at Southern New Hampshire State University. (4/3/17)

David Kostelancik (MA Political Science/REES ’88) is deputy chief of mission (deputy ambassador) at the U.S. Embassy in Budapest, Hungary. (2/26/16)

Sonja Luehrmann (PhD Anthropology & History ’09) received the 2016 Waldo Gifford Leland Award given by the Society of American Archivists for Religion in Secular Archives: Soviet Atheism and Historical Knowledge (Oxford UP, 2015). (8/1/16)

Michael MacQueen (BA Economics ’80, MA REES ’83), senior historian, Human Rights Violators and War Crimes Center, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement, received ICE’s Eleanor Roosevelt Human Rights Award for lifetime achievement in the area of investigating human rights violators. (2/26/16)

Margarita Nafpaktitis (PhD Slavic ’03) joined Stanford University Libraries in September 2016 as curator for the Slavic and East European Collections. (8/1/16)

Amy Nicodemus (PhD Anthropology ’14) is assistant professor of archaeology at University of Wisconsin-La Crosse. (8/1/16)

Nevila Pahumi (PhD History ’16) is an Alexander Nash Fellow in Albanian Studies for 2016-18 at University College London School of Slavonic and East European Studies. (4/3/17)

Nancy Bikoff Pettit (MA REES ’77) is U.S. Ambassador to Latvia. (5/20/16)

Eion Power (MA REES ’15) is an analyst at Avascent, a strategy consulting firm where his projects focus on commercial aerospace, government procurement policy, and naval and airborne platforms. (4/13/16)

Elana Resnick (PhD Anthropology ’16) is a postdoctoral fellow at the Havighurst Center for Russian and Post-Soviet Studies and visiting assistant professor of international studies at Miami University. (4/3/17)

Benjamin Rifkin (PhD Slavic ’90) left his position as Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences at The College of New Jersey to take up the responsibilities of Provost and Vice President for Educational Affairs at Ithaca College. (2/26/16)

Douglas Rogers (MA REES ’02, PhD Anthropology ’04) received the 2016 Davis Center Book Prize in Political and Social Studies, 2016 Ed A. Hewett Book Prize, and 2016 Wayne S. Vucinich Book Prize (Honorable Mention) from the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies for The Depths of Russia: Oil, Power, and Culture after Socialism (Cornell UP, 2015). (4/3/17)

Monica Sendor (BS Psychology/REES ’09), a Foreign Service officer, is serving as economics officer at the U.S. Embassy in Kyiv, Ukraine. (2/26/16)

Jessica Fisher Shammami (MA REES/MPP Public Policy ’10) is deputy budget officer at National Institutes of Health, National Institute on Aging. (4/3/17)

Dina Smeltz (MA REES ’92) is senior fellow for public opinion and foreign policy at the Chicago Council for Global Affairs. (4/13/16)

Maria Smith (MA REES/MPP Public Policy ’12) is a foreign affairs officer with the Department of State’s Office of the Coordinator of U.S. Assistance to Europe and Eurasia. (4/3/17)

Keely Stauter-Halsted (MA REES ’87, PhD History ’93) received the 2016 Heldt Prize for the Best Book in Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Women’s Studies from the Association for Women in Slavic Studies for The Devil's Chain: Prostitution and Social Control in Partitioned Poland (Cornell UP, 2015). (4/3/17)

Maria Wathen (PhD Social Work/Sociology ’16) is an assistant professor of social work at Loyola University, Chicago. (4/3/17)

Alice Weinreb (PhD History ’09) is assistant professor of history at Loyola University Chicago. (2/26/16)

Jessica Zychowicz (PhD Slavic ’15) is a postdoctoral fellow at the University Toronto’s Center for European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies/Munk School for Global Affairs in the Petro Jacyk Program for Ukrainian Studies. (2/26/16)